2014-15 Research Seminar Series

2014-15 Research Seminar Series

Semester 2

24 Jul 2015 (Fri)
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
GH128

Who are the New Farmers/return-to-village youth? An exploratory study of their implications on social economy development in Hong Kong and Mainland China

Mr. TSUI Tsz Chun
(MPhil Program)

 

6 Jul 2015 (Mon) 
9:30 pm - 6:00 pm

7 Jul 2015 (Tue) 
10:00 pm - 5:30 pm

Y302

International Seminar: Food, Risks and Sustainability: An Asian Perspective

Prof. Julien Chaisse
The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Dr. Samuel Godefroy
University Laval

Prof. Yoko Nllyama
University of Kyoto

Prof. Jean-Pierre Poulain
University of Toulouse

 

26 Jun 2015 (Fri)
3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
GH237

The Boundaries of the Social Work Relationship Revisited: Towards a Connected, Inclusive and Dynamic Conceptualization

Prof. Patrick O' Leary
Griffith University

 

12 Jun 2015 (Fri)
2:30 pm
GH405

Crisis, cuts and resistance: British social work in an age of austerity

Prof. Iain Ferguson
University of the West of Scotland

 

29 May 2015 (Fri)
3:00 pm – 4:30 pm
GH128

Scrutinizing Urban Development in Provincial China: Financialization, Land Acquisition, and Resettlement

Mr. LIU Yuyang 
(PhD Program)

 

28 May 2015 (Thur)
4:00 pm – 5:30 pm
GH128

Surviving the “tempest” and what the men say”; Well-being amongst rural women of Builsa District in the Upper East Region of Ghana

Ms ABBEY Eunice 
(PhD Program)

 

22 May 2015 (Fri)
3:00 pm – 4:30 pm
GH128

Looking on different scale of urbanization in China’s cities - Built environment, quality of space and sustainability

Ms OSINSKA Malgorzata 
(MPhil Program)

 

21 May 2015 (Thur)
3:00 pm – 4:30 pm
GH128

Exploring Problems of, and Solutions to, Classroom Teaching at PolyU

Dr. Alex Cockain

 

8 May 2015 (Fri)
4:30 pm – 6:00 pm
GH128

Evaluation of the effectiveness of a literacy intervention program on enhancing learning outcomes for secondary students with dyslexia and specific reading and writing difficulties in Hong Kong

Miss Tam Oi Lan
(MPhil Program)

 

30 Apr 2015 (Thur)
3:00 pm – 4:30 pm
GH128

Beyond Un/veiling Women: Transformation of the "Gaitou" in Southwestern Hui Village

Mr. GONG Jin

 

23 Apr 2015 (Thur)
3:00 pm – 4:30 pm
GH405

Engaging students’ learning in classrooms with mobile technology

Dr. Kevin Chan

 

10 Apr 2015 (Fri)
3:00 pm – 4:30 pm
GH128

Modeling and Measuring Information Asymmetries in the Context of Senegalese 

Mr. Marlon Seror

 

31 Mar 2015 (Tue)
3:30 pm – 5:00 pm
GH128

How do self-construals and cultural intelligence affect life satisfaction? A cross-cultural study of Hong Kong Chinese, Mainland Chinese, and Americans

Ms. NG Ka Yan Hilary

 

30 Mar 2015 (Mon)
3:00 pm – 4:30 pm
GH237

Guidelines for Conducting Peer Review of Teaching Practice: The New Challenges Ahead

Dr. Rodney Chu

 

19 Mar 2015 (Thu)
10:00 am – 11:30 am
GH128

Emotional regulation as protective factor for parents of children coming from socially diverse background

Mr. Nan Kurt
(MPhil Program)

 

2 Mar 2015 (Mon)
3:30 pm – 5:00 pm
GH405

A new age of world factory: capital, state and the new generation of migrant workers?

Prof. Pun Ngai

 

27 Feb 2015 (Fri)
3:30 pm – 5:00 pm
GH405

Reflecting on RAE Results

Dr. David Ip

 

27 Feb 2015 (Fri)
10:00 am – 11:30 am
GH128

Surviving as a professional in an era of manageralism: A study of the administrative roles of social worker in elderly services of Hong Kong?

Mr. Pak Chui Man
(PhD Program)

 

28 Jan 2015 (Wed)
2:30 pm – 4:00 pm
GH128

The new agriculture operational subjects: Capital accumulation and Agrarian transition in rural China

Mr. Chen Hangying
(PhD Program)

 

Semester 1

12 Dec 2014 (Tue)
3:30 pm – 5:00 pm
GH405

Family Policies and Child Poverty in the Nordic Countries

Prof. Tapio Salonen

 

9 Dec 2014 (Tue)
2:30 pm – 4:00 pm
GH128

Women and Advertisements in Shanghai. An Ethnographic Approach

Ms. Olivotti Francesca 
(PhD Program)

 

4 Dec 2014 (Thur)
3:30 pm – 5:00 pm
GH128

Competing Aid Regimes: Australia and Chinese Aid in Southeast Asia Compared

Mr. Talesco Cristian 
(PhD Program)

 

2 Dec 2014 (Tue)
3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
GH405

Family Policies and Child Poverty in the Nordic Countries

Prof. Tapio Salonen 
Malmö University

 

28 Oct 2014 (Tue)
10:30 pm- 12:00 pm
GH405

Gender analysis of ‘one-child policy’ – The impact on gender equalities in China

Ms. Nowak Martyna Krystyna
(PhD Program)

 

27 Oct 2014 (Mon)
3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
GH201

APSS Departmental Seminars by Prof. Stein Ringen: How Social Policay and Social Work came to be a  focus of teaching and research in one of Europe’s oldest universities?

Prof. Stein Ringen
University of Oxford

 

23 Oct 2014 (Thur)
3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
GH405

APSS Public Seminars by Prof. Stein Ringen: How Government gets Things Done?

Prof. Stein Ringen
University of Oxford

 

20 Oct 2014 (Mon)
3:30 pm - 5:00 pm
GH201

APSS Departmental Seminars by Prof. Stein Ringen: Research dialogue on China’s social welfare and social policy development

Prof. Stein Ringen
University of Oxford

 

17 Oct 2014 (Fri)
3:00 pm- 4:30 pm
GH405

Developing a Measure of Financial Decision Making in the Elderly: A Clinical Approach

Ms. Orquiza Mary Grace Serranilla
(PhD Program)

 

19 Sept 2014 (Fri)
3:00 pm – 4:30 pm
GH405

Urban students: a lost horizon in social science?

Mr. Chow Sung Ming

 

16 Sept 2014 (Mon)
2:30 pm - 4:00 pm
GH405

Emotional regulation as protective factor for parents of children coming from socially diverse background

Mr. Nan Kurt
(MPhil Program)

 

1 Sept 2014 (Mon)
3:00 pm- 4:30 pm
GH405

Cultural Politics of the Veil: The Study of Chinese Muslim Women's Dress and Style

Mr. Gong Jin
(MPhil Program)