Research Seminars 2010-2011

2010-11 APSS Faculty/Student Research Seminar Series

 

Semester 2


19 Aug 2011 (Fri) 
4:00 pm – 5:30 pm 
GH405 

The making of subjects: a study of woman workers in two factories in socialist and post-socialist China

Miss Deng Yunxue 
(MPhil Program) 

 

 

15 Aug 2011 (Mon)
3:00 pm – 4:30 pm 
GH405 

Psychosocial correlates of treatment fears among young psychotropic substance abusers in Hong Kong    

Miss Chung Yee Ha Yida 
(PhD Program) 

 

 

26 July 2011 (Tue)
10:00 am to 12:00 nn 
GH405    

『手機在中國的使用調查及研究前瞻』工作坊    

沈崇麟 
中國社會科學院社會學研究所 

李東山 
四川省社會科學院 

楊善華 
北京大學社會學系    

 

 

27 June 2011 (Mon) 
7:00 pm to 9:30 pm
GH405    

吃掉社會 ─ 走出廚房看世界 
(語言:廣東話)    

馮一冲博士    

 

 

24 June 2011 (Fri) 
4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
GH405    

吃掉社會 ─ 走出廚房看世界 
(語言:普通話)    

馮一冲博士    

 

 

1 June 2011 (Wed)
4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
GH405

The Role of Culture in Shaping Human Emotions

Prof Liah Greenfeld
Boston University

 

 

28 May 2011 (Sat)
2:30 pm to 5:00 pm
TU107

2011 社會經濟公共論壇:
社會經濟再出發

潘毅博士以及社會經濟研究計劃參與學者
 

 

 

16 May 2011 (Mon)
4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
GH405

Unequal investment in and possession of social capital in China

Dr Li Wanxin
City University of Hong Kong
 
 

 

11 May 2011 (Wed)
3:30 pm to 5:00 pm 
GH405

Evaluation of transplantation of a Positive Youth Development Program in the People’s Republic of China
 
Mr Leung Tong Lit Charles
(PhD Program)

 

 

9 May 2011 (Mon)
4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
GH405

The Chinese state and structures on inequality in two epochs
 
Prof Mark Selden
Cornell University

 

 

30 Apr 2011(Sat)
2:30 pm to 5:00 pm
N002

2011 社會經濟公共論壇:香港與珠三角跨境連結再想像

香港浸會大學地理系教授
鄧永成博士
 

 

29 Apr 2011 (Fri)
3:30 pm to 5:00 pm
GH405

Egalitarian redistributions of agricultural land in China through community consensus
 
Prof Jonathan Unger
Australian National University

 

 

21 Apr 2011 (Thur)
4:00 pm to 6:00 pm
GH405

Class consciousness of Chinese migrant workers in the Pearl River Delta

Prof Anita Chan
University of Technology, Sydney
 
Mr Kaxton Siu
The Australian National University
 
 

 

14 Apr 2011 (Thur)
3:00 pm to 5:00 pm
GH201

The mainstream discourse of the Mao era and its impact on rural development in China in the last 30 years

Prof Mobo CF Gao
University of Adelaide
 
 

 

26 Mar 2011 (Sat)
2:30 pm to 5:00 pm
HJ305

2011 社會經濟公共論壇:
香港社會經濟實踐

香港中文大學社會工作系副教授黃洪博士
 

 

 

25 Mar 2011 (Fri)
2:00 pm to 4:00 pm
GH405

Towards inclusive social citizenship? Rethinking Chinese social security in the trend of 'urban-rural harmonization'
 
Dr Shi Shih Jiun  
National Taiwan University

[Powerpoint]
 

 

22 Mar 2011 (Tue)
3:30 pm to 5:00 pm
GH405

Couple relationship matters: Direct and indirect effect of inter-parental relationship on adolescent mental health
 
Mr Fok Hung Kit
(PhD Program)

 

 

15 Mar 2011 (Tue)
10:00 am to 11:30 am
GH405

Dialogue with the Under Secretary for the environment on Hong Kong environmental policies

Dr Kitty Poon Kit
Environment Bureau

[Powerpoint]
 

 

1 Mar 2011 (Tue)
3:00 pm to 4:30 pm
GH405

Perceptions of older people among social work students in Hong Kong
 
Ms So Ka Man
(PhD Program)


 

 

12 Feb 2011 (Sat)
2:30 pm to 5:00 pm
TU107

2011 社會經濟公共論壇:社會經濟是甚麼?

嶺南大學文化研究副教授
許寶強博士

 

 

8 Feb 2011 (Tue)
2:30 pm to 4:30 pm
M1603

Asset Building: Social Innovation and Research

Prof Michael Sherraden
Washington University in St. Louis
 
 

 

28 Jan 2011 (Fri)
4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
GH405

Doing fieldwork in Brazil: Researching the palmas brief

Mr Jun Daito
(PhD Program)
 
 

17 Jan 2011 (Mon)
4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
GH201

Peasants' lives and the changing land use system in China: A case study of the Household Responsibility System
 
Mr Wang Huaqi
(PhD Program)


 

Semester 1


29 Dec 2010 (Wed)
3:00 pm to 4:30 pm
GH405

Collaboration or governance?  Foster care policy implementation in Guangzhou
 
 Ms Lu Wei
(PhD Program)

 

 

20 Dec 2010 (Mon)
6:30 pm to 8:30 pm
GH403

Being a researcher: Journey in graduate research

Miss Wong Sze Ki Agnes
 
Mr Luke Yeung Felix

 

 

17 Dec 2010 (Fri)
4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
GH405

Liminality and  transformative habitus: The case of returned women migrant workers in Qianjiang
 
Miss Peng Juan
(PhD Program)

 

 

10 Dec 2010 (Fri)
3:00 pm to 4:30 pm
GH405

What is the cure for our health care system? An analysis of historical transformation

Miss Luo Chia Ling
(PhD Program)

 

 

6 Dec 2010 (Mon)
4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
GH405

Understanding  Chinese developmental dyslexia: Meta-linguistic awareness in Chinese reading and writing

Dr Alice Lai
 

 

2 Dec 2010 (Thur)
3:30 pm to 5:00 pm
GH201

Apology and accountability: A systemic examination of organizations’ strategies of image restoration
 
Dr Kuo Frank Yu
City University of Hong Kong
 
 

 

26 Nov 2010 (Fri)
3:00 pm to 5:00 pm
GH403

The Erosion of Participatory Paternalism in Chinese Factories

Prof Joel Andreas
Johns Hopkins University

 

 

15 Nov 2010  (Mon)
4:30 pm to 6:00 pm
GH405

Using the World Values Survey to Assess the Role of Secularism and Religious Engagement in the Life Satisfaction of Contemporary Youth
 
Prof Michael Bond

 

 

13 Nov 2010  (Sat)
2:00 pm to 4:00 pm
N002

Successful People with Learning Disabilities: Overcoming Learning Difficulties and Succeeding

Dr Chow Chun Bong
The University of Hong Kong
 
Thomas, Dyslexic student
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
 
Dr Alice Lai
 
 

 

25 Oct 2010 (Mon)
3:00 pm to 6:00 pm
GH201

Disaster and Social work: Sichuan Experiences (2)

Ms Helena Au

Dr Chan Kam Tong

Dr Ku Hok Bun

Dr Ting Wai Fong
 

 

18 Oct 2010 (Mon)
3:30 pm to 6:00 pm
GH201

Disaster and Social Work: Sichuan Experiences

Ms Fok Siu Ling

Dr Ho Kit Wan

Dr Lee Tsor Kui

Dr Ng Guat Tin
 
 

 

15 Oct 2010 (Fri)
3:00 pm to 4:00 pm
GH405

Implicit motives and successful aging in diverse cultural contexts

Dr Jan Hofer
University of Osnabrück

 

 

24 Sept 2010 (Fri)
3:00 pm to 5:00 pm
GH201

Evaluation of the "Hands On Parent Empowerment (HOPE)" Project to empower socially disadvantaged parents as active agents in their children's learning
 
Prof Cynthia Leung

Dr Sandra Tsang
The University of Hong Kong